Posted by: Shar & Mare | February 23, 2009

Did he REALLY ask that (aka: Three-A-Mangos)?


I have to say … I am one of those people who don’t mind blind dates. I figure I will either meet the love of my love, or get a funny story out of it.

All I can say is that I am grateful I do have a sense of humor. Otherwise, I would be living on the street because my drug and therapy bills would prevent me from paying the mortgage.

Ever go on a date and come away shaking your head repeating, “did they really say that?” Well, I have … as recently as a couple of months ago.

This particular date made such an impression on me, I actually entitled it, “Three A-Mangos” ….

I have been involved in the on line dating for quite awhile. And, you pick up a speed reading type quality when perusing the profiles. I came across one entitled, “Three Mangos.” I am not sure why I sent an email. This guy had dark black eyes and I tend to go for blue eyes but he seemed fun and I liked his playful writing style in his profile. To be honest, I really don’t like mangos, but I was willing to have an open mind – who knows? Maybe I would like mangos if I tried.

Three Mangos and I had some fun emails back and forth and agreed to meet for dinner. We met at a cute restaurant in midtown in NYC. He was cordial and pulled out my chair and you guessed it – he brought me 3 mangos. I was nervous and he put me at ease; he was actually sort of cute. We chatted and ordered dinner. I was starting to feel comfortable when we embarked on funny dating experiences.

Towards the end of the date, Three Mangos turned the conversation to the dark side … that of his sexual antics as a man living in NYC. “Ugh-oh” I thought. This was not first date conversation. Then he proceeded to tell me that he had a girlfriend. It sure would have been nice if he mentioned this at the beginning of the date. At first, I thought he was joking and I laughed my nervous laugh. Then he said, “I don’t know what you’re into … but maybe you would want to join us?” I said that I did not want to go on a date with him and his girlfriend.

That did not stop Mango Guy; he told me that they were talking about adding a 3rd person to the relationship because it would be “fun and mix it up a little.” I was not quite into that kind of fun or mixing it up. Talk about being a 3rd mango! Surely he saw the shock in my face, but continued. “Would you like to come back to my place … and join my girlfriend and me?” I was so utterly shocked that I honestly did not know how to reply.

My stomach was doing back flips and I was enraged. Yet a wave of calm came over me. So, I said, “gee, what an interesting offer. But, let me see if I can answer this clearly. NO.” I got up, and went to the bathroom. On my way back, he was exchanging numbers with the waitress. I grabbed my coat and said, “Thanks for dinner … have fun with the waitress … and please, keep the mangos.”

Still shaking my head …. thanks for listening.
Tell me about your “head shaking” date … would love to hear!

Mariann


Responses

  1. Interesting story. I have had nothing but bad luck with blind/online dating. One of my friends has the opposite experience. Maybe I just have a bad attitude 😉

  2. [wow]


Leave a Reply

Categories

