Posted by: Shar & Mare | May 1, 2009

To Click or Not to Click!


I popped onto a well known site and started my search. As I scrolled over their profile pics and initial description … it was like my index finger was frozen. It wouldn’t move. I just couldn’t CLICK. All the faces blurred together and no one profile stood out over another.

I was horrified. This never happened before. Normally, I was eager to read about a person and send them a WINK if I wasn’t sure or an email if I felt they were compatible.

But, in the last round of sending out winks and emails, almost everyone came back with the automated, “thanks, but ….” … or said, “I just met someone and want to give it a try but you seem like a nice person and like we have a lot in common.” BLAH-BLAH-BLAH!!

So, I found myself not only thinking once or twice or even three times about clicking but 5 times. I started to think, “why bother?” And, that is so unlike me. I consider myself the eternal optomist with the occassional “pity party day.”

Have I become jaded? Do I need a break? Should I try another site? I don’t know, I just don’t know. It sure would be nice to get an email from someone who actually fit the description of “what i am looking for” instead of fitting the description, “everything I don’t want.”

To click or not to click? That really is the question. Maybe I have become so lax or scan over the profiles so quickly, that maybe, just maybe, I should be a bit more discerning or take a new look at the profiles I hesitate on but move past. Maybe there is something there.

Sometimes, you think a guy is going to be perfect and he isn’t. Othertimes, you wonder why you contacted someone (after you clicked of course, LOL) only to be surprised that he contacts you and is actually a nice guy.

I don’t have the answers yet, but I will try a new approach and keep you posted on its success!

Thanks for letting roam a bit with this CLICKING bewilderment!
Mariann
http://www.lifebytesbook.com
lifebytesrealstories.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. […] Original post by bookeditors […]

  2. I’ve never tried online dating but for some people it seems like a great way to Start Love. For the most part, I don’t go looking for love or to start relationships, I never have until that person of interest is in clear view. If I know someone is interested in me and I feel the same way, I’ll drop hints, etc. Yeah, I’m a little old fashioned when it comes to dating. But that’s how I do it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

