Posted by: Shar & Mare | June 30, 2009

Girl Talk


I recently found a great site for finding and reading blogs. It’s called AlphaInventions and it’s a great place for blog-addicts. Basically random blogs pop up on screen for a minute or two and you “stop” the scroll when you find something you like..loads of fun! I found a few about friends and girl talk in general…which got me to thinkin’…

Women talk, this is what I love the most about all my girlfriends. We chat, we question, we explain, we probe, we get to the heart of whatever is on the table be it politics, our kids, shoes or our love lives. Take a note guys…this is why we live longer than you on average, we wouldn’t dream of dying in the middle of a great GF conversation and we’re almost always in the midst of one of those! I will also offer a warning to our friends of the masculine persuasion….we talk about our internet dates…a lot.

A while back I was out for coffee with my friend Jill. She was also dating online at the time, on the same site that I was on and, since she and I were the same age, was running across a lot of the same profiles that I was finding. Jill was complaining about a less than successful date she’d had the night before.

“I sort of had my doubts about meeting him and I really should have listened to myself. His profile said he wanted to be friends first but later it went on to talk about sex and how he loved to give foot massages. He really went on about the foot thing too.”

“So why did you go out with him,” I asked.

Jill thought for a second. “Well, he sent this really beautiful email and he included a poem that he wrote. It was something about comparing a woman to a peach blossom. I thought he might be the sensitive, poetic type.”

I sipped my coffee and wondered why what she was saying seemed naggingly familiar. “Apparently he wasn’t”.

“Oh God no! He was sort of creepy. He kept staring at my feet. He asked me twice what my shoe size was and I swear, once I’m sure I caught him licking his lips while he was looking down at my toes.”

Feet, poem, beautiful email…suddenly it all clicked into place. “Uh, Jill did his email start out with This morning while sipping a Mocha Latte I read your profile and as I did I felt the simmering warmth of connection. and did the poem start out with She opens like a soft dew kissed peach blossom on a spring morn?”

Jill gaped at me…”YES”.

“Oh my God Jill, you actually went out and MET Bad Poetry Guy?!”

This wasn’t the first time that Jill and I had been contacted by the same person. More often than not I was the one to pass on meeting him based on profiles and emails. Poor Jill though would meet him first before realizing that this was so not a good match.

“Sadly…yes. Sha, how is it that you peg these guys from what they write and I have to suffer through a sit-down with them?”

We then did our girl-thing. We talked, we probed, we analyzed, we came to the grand conclusion. You see, Jill had a job that required her to do a lot of hiring, basically she interviewed people all day. I, on the other hand, have a long background in local theater. To create a role on stage I have to read the script, find the sub-text and figure out what makes this character tick from nothing more than the written word. Jill had to “interview” her dates to find out if they were a match. I was better at reading the sub-text in what they wrote. Case solved.

So now I’m curious as to whether you are an “interviewer” or a sub-text “interpreter”. Or do you fit into another category altogether? Are you a guy who does a “cut and paste” of the same email to everyone you connect with online? If you do, you should think twice about that in the future….girls talk you know.

Sha

Responses

  1. That is interesting and very scary. wish there is something we can do about online dating safety tips to help users.

  2. […] “type” too, so we’ve been contacted by quite a few of the same men. And OH YES we discuss you guys. We know that you’ve cut, pasted and sent us the same canned email and we catch you in the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

