Posted by: Shar & Mare | July 28, 2009

You grew up good!


I have come to realize that it really is a small world.

I was contacted by someone on a niche dating site and he was cute and seemed honest and down to earth. So, I emailed and it began a nice relay of emails between us.

Tony, it turns out, went to the same Jr. High School as I did. But, I sure don’t remember him. He sure grew up nice.

It was fun to realize this … although I did have to admit to taking 2 years off my real age to yield my “internet age.” Two years on your age on the internet is like the 5 second rule when you drop food on the floor — it’s OK! Really, it is 🙂

We strolled down memory lane and each of us had kept up with different people, yet had some common friends. It sure made the dating conversation more comfortable.

Tony was a great guy, but after a few dates, I think we realized the “spark” was not there … but the upside is that we became fast friends. How great is that? It sure is a small world.

Funny how you can know someone as a kid and not be aware of them so much or be friends with them, and yet possibly grow up and meet them thru a different venue and wind up dating or getting married.

Have you ever had anything like that happen with people from your past? Or just nice encounters that gave you the hope to go on?

Please share — everyone needs a positive story!

Thanks
Mariann
http://www.lifebytesbook.com
lifebytesrealstories.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. That’s a cute little story. It seems like that was such a coincidence finding someone you knew to Start Love through the internet with. The online dating world is so big, and what are the chances that you join the same site as someone you went to grade school with? I have had a similar story to yours. Not really, but close. I met my ex boyfriend one day downtown when I was hanging out with a bunch of friends from work. He and I started talking, going on dates, etc until we were a legit couple. We found out as we really go to know each other more that we had worked together at one point, went to the same church and were part of the same small group when we were younger (around 8th grade ages), and we were pretty much around each other our whole lives, but never actually met until now. It was seriously the best relationship I have ever been in, but unfortunately it ended because of conflicting schedules. But when I look on the bright side of things, I see it as we will always be a part of each others lives. We had been when we were younger, and I think it will happen again in the future. =)

  2. Great Stories! I also have a story about internet dating. I was considered a serial dater by my friends, I dated a lot of guys for short periods of time. I had the “grass is greener on the other side” syndrome. I also had trouble respecting most men I came in contact with.

    I tended to choose guys just like me, independent men who had never married. There is a reason they never married and it took me a long time to figure that out.

    My search for Mr. Right lead me to the Internet where I gave in to a guy that was divorced with children (against my rules). I could not believe the difference in this man compared to all the guys I dated who had never committed to anything.

    At 45, I ended up marrying this guy and inherited his two kids, two dogs and his x-wife (we are all close). My experiences on the Internet were crazy and I learned so much that I wrote an ebook about my adventures. I hope to help others find success with internet dating.

    Online dating is a great way to meet people you would never meet out and about. If also allows you to get to know people that you think are not your type, you might be surprised.


Leave a Reply

Categories

