Posted by: Shar & Mare | December 28, 2009

Holidays And New Beginnings


Well, it has been awhile since I posted an entry. The bustle of the Holiday Season made it difficult for me to find time to pay my bills much less post a blog entry.

The Holidays can be a double edged sword. It can be a time of great joy and happiness with family or loved ones. And when loved ones are no longer here and are missed terribly or we do not have a special “someone” in our life to share the holiday with, it can be disheartening and a bit lonely.

I have experienced both this season. I miss the magic my parents created at Christmas time. I miss going to mass with my mom on Christmas Eve and coming home to a home cooked meal and exchanging presents. I miss buying special gifts for the person who has stolen my heart. And even though I enjoy spending time with my brothers and their family, I have experienced loneliness at the same time. And that is what can make the holidays difficult.

The New Year gives me hope for a new beginning and renewed focus and energy to accomplish all those items on my TO DO List and to spend some time on friends, socializing and pursuing venues to meet a “special someone.”

I think the key is to keep the momentum after the first month.

2010 sees me blessed with a good job, a nice family and wonderful friends and my health. I am lucky and blessed and I cannot lose sight of my fortune in these areas.

So, for 2010, I think I will keep it simple. Lose the balance of the weight I gained since my mother’s passing last year AND make meeting someone a priority.

And, hopefully this time next year, I will be attending mass on Christmas Eve with that special someone who I hope will help me recapture the magic of the holiday season that came so freely when I was a little kid growing up.

My advise is to not overload yourself with too many resolutions. Pick 1 or 2 that are most important to you and put your heart into seeing them become a reality. Don’t spread your focus, time and energy so thin that you are overwhelmed and then cannot accomplish anything.

Time will tell.

Cheers to New Beginnings!

I wish everyone a wonderful New Year’s and hope that 2010 holds nothing but fulfilled hopes and dreams.

I want to thank everyone who has supported the Lifebytes project and blog throughout the year.

We would like to see more comments and input and shared stories in 2010!

Cheers!

Mariann
http://www.lifebytesbook.com
lifebytesrealstories.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. I’m sorry you’re missing your mother. The holidays can be especially difficult when we are grieving for someone we loved. My suggestion is to create a new tradition in celebration of your mother. Perhaps make a recipe of a dish that you both enjoyed or that she used to make, and share it with others. Pass on some of the things you loved about her to others on your life and create some space that is in celebration of her and what she taught you.

    As for finding love, remember that love comes in many different forms — besides romantic partners, there are our friends, family, God, ourselves — we can even find love by gazing out at a beautiful sunrise or seeing a baby’s smile. How about a resolution to find love every day in each person we meet, each new experience we have? At this time next year, you will be overwhelmed with all the love in your life, including the love from your Mom that you hold in your heart. Have a very Happy New Year. Here’s to finding love!

  2. Thanks Yvette for your kind words and advise. I am blessed with a nice family and truly loving friends. And it certainly eases the pain in missing your mom/best friend.

    On some short notice I found myself hosting a small New Year’s Eve party and found myself cooking my mother’s “specialty” dishes and one dish was the last one we worked on together. And it was comforting.

    I keep my mother and traditions and her humor and all the wonderful things she represented alive to me and my family. I owe her that AND my family.

    Although, I think my friends miss my parties ending with my mom around to read “tea leaves” … my mother was a devout Catholic but she was a bit Irish story teller who was lucky enough to have a 6th sense which made the tea leave reading all the more entertaining.

    I hope 2010 is filled with nothing but love and good fun and happy times for you. Thanks for your comments.

    Mariann


Leave a Reply

Categories

