Posted by: Shar & Mare | July 26, 2010

Jersey Girl


“Men from New York City don’t want to meet women from New Jersey, they think we’re all Jersey Girls.” This came from a friend bemoaning the fact that all the really cute guys on the dating sites seem, to her, to live in NYC; and the “Jersey Girls” label is the stigma that those of us with zip codes starting with 07 or 08 seem doomed to bear.

So, what is a Jersey Girl? Am I a Jersey Girl? Let us look at the pros and cons:

I do not have Big Hair, nor do I have three inch long, french manicured gel fingernails. My last name is not Soprano. In fact, the only time I ever get involved with a Mob of any kind is during Macy’s Seasonal Clearance Sales. I do not have a nickname that even remotely sounds like Snookie or Sweetheart, nor am I acquainted with a Situation of any kind. I am decidedly NOT a Housewife. I have never, and probably will never, own a baby blue convertible Iroc Z, and I do not have a year-round tan developed from hours spent lying inert on a tanning bed.

On the other hand, I’ve lived in New Jersey (we just call it Jersey here) my whole life. I was born in Hoboken (actually a cool city – birthplace of Frank Sinatra and once home to the Tootsie Roll factory). Ask me where I live and I will tell you what Turnpike Exit I live off of (only fellow Jerseyan’s will be laughing at that one!). I did have a scary “Joisey” accent growing up but, through the compassion and determination of dedicated college drama professors, have effectively laid it to rest. I have spent more than a few summers “down the shore”, but this was long before it was The Jersey Shore. I live within six miles of a Mall, and I know for certain, from the deepest recesses of my soul, that Springsteen is indeed The Boss.

Soooo, does that make me a Jersey Girl, or just someone who lives in Jersey?
And YO…what’s wit youse New Yawk guys anyway?

Responses

  1. Ugh, yeah, it’s a disadvantage. My husband is from Brooklyn and he tells me he never intended to fall for a Jersey girl. He was very anti-women from across the Hudson.

    Moral of the story, I guess, is that we can punch through the prejudice sometimes. 😉

  2. […] your mind and soul reading the real life stories of people finding love through figs, from Jersey girls, to finding love up in the air. The blog also contains cautionary online dating advice of […]

  3. Hahaha, I am a transplant to New Jersey but I’ve been here for 5 years and know exactly what you’re tawking about! I live at the shore and 5 years ago, it was definitely not THE JERSEY SHORE ugh, that show has tainted this area!
    Anyway, I just started a blog about being newly single and dating in New Jersey and, while I don’t emphasize Jersey, it’s all taking place here and I think it goes to show how “normal” Jersey is…
    If you have time, you should check it out… http://www.datingconfidential.wordpress.com
    Thanks for the good read, I think it’ll be fun to explore your site!

    • As a lifelong Jersey Girl I have to agree with you. We’re much more “normal” than given credit for. I’ll definitely check out your blog too…just love a good dating story!


Leave a Reply

Categories

