Posted by: Shar & Mare | August 23, 2010

Crowdsourcing For A Date?


Sometimes dating online is just too frustrating for words. I know it works, I had an over-two-year long relationship with someone I never would have met had it not been for the internet. So…I know I will meet someone again. One would assume, because of past success, that I might have a magic formula or “tricks of the trade” for finding just the right person. I don’t – it’s still frustrating enough to send me to the couch, there to spend Saturday night with a video rental and my tasty fall-back boyfriends, Ben & Jerry.

I think that it would be easier if it wasn’t so time-consuming. An evening of reading profile after profile makes my eyes water and my head spin. I find then that my dreams are filled with a never-ending loop of profile-speak: — “I’mhandsomeandstableandlikemoonlightwalksandholdinghandswithyoumyspecial
someoneandyoumustlikedogsandchildrenandhaveasteadyjoband……”

There has to be a more efficient way to find a date. Maybe Crowdsourcing is the answer! Crowdsourcing is the act of outsourcing tasks to a large group of people or community (a crowd), through an open call. Hmmm, now this concept could very well be tweaked a bit and used as an online dating call. It could go like this:

The Opportunity: Take Sharon on a date.

Job Requirements: Must be male with 20+ years of solid experience as an adult. Fluent in small talk as well as deep conversation. Computer skills not required but ability to write full English sentences in an email is a plus. Experience in the sourcing and purchasing of flowers and the occasional box of candy is required. Polite management of wait staff, valets, bartenders to ensure a pleasant evening is expected of the candidate. Extra consideration will be given to candidates with past successes in researching and choosing the correct wine for the meal. Full disclosure regarding the details of past breakups is also required. References from former partners WILL be checked.

Compensation:
negotiable – based on qualifications.

I’m betting that men, being the competitive darlings that they are, will leap at the chance to join in the job…er date…hunt. I can then search through the list of pre-qualified candidates to find my Saturday night date. Hey, how does this sound: CrowdSourceMatch.com!! Wouldn’t you just LOVE to crowdsource for your own date too? Admit it, you’re reading this and mentally compiling your own list of “qualifications”….:)

Responses

  1. OMG I’d love to use something like this, it would be so simple!!!

    • Wouldn’t it though!? And really efficient too.

  2. Maybe its just me, maybe because its morning. But isn’t reading a bunch of applicant resumes the same as a profile? Seems to have the same info in it. 🙂

  3. […] Then I found Mariann and “Sha” who’s doing exactly that. Crowdsourcing for dates and looking for love. So far, one of them isn’t too happy with the recently attained six […]

    • Hey Trueman…thanks for the great plug for LifeBytes. As you’ve already found, we just love the “reality” of sharing stories about love, life and anything else that comes to mind. Good luck with your new blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

