Posted by: Shar & Mare | December 12, 2011

Thoughful Counts


Gestures count. You don’t need grand sweeping gestures to show someone you care. Small gestures can go a long way to show someone that you are thinking about them, want them to be happy, “get them,” or understand them or what they like or might be going through. The offer of making coffee for someone in the morning is an easy but tender gesture. A hug. Calling and asking how their day is going? Taking an active interest in their hobby or things they like to do. For example, I like to write stories … having someone want to read what I have written or discuss it is a big turn on. It shows they care and are interested in things that are important to me.

The little gestures show a level of consciousness and sensitivity which can only bring people closer — because it shows you are invested in this person. Whether it is a friendship or love relationship, it can warm your heart when people have the consideration and take the time.

For example, my beloved mother passed 3 years ago. I was very close to her and the anniversary date is always a tough time for me. Well, I have friends who will call me on that day to let me know that they understand this is a difficult day for me and they are thinking about me, love me and are there for me if I want to talk.

That means the world to me. It went beyond giving me a material gift … it was the gift of themselves and their comfort and their love and their remembering someone very dear to me. It was very comforting and it only strengthened the friendship.

Thoughtful is good. Remember that!
What are some thoughtful gestures friends or loved ones have done for you that have touched you?

Mariann

Leave a Reply

Categories

